Planning the Spontaneous

It's more than just a blueprint.

It’s a Hard Drive

Posted by Robert Chow on 20/02/2010

So someone mentioned to me the other day that I haven’t been blogging about my driving lessons as such anymore. Well, here’s some news for you.

Unfortunately my instructor has broken a bone in his foot whilst trying to push a car.  As a result, he is in plaster and cannot operate the clutch anymore, thus unable to give anymore lessons for at least the next 6 weeks. Kinda sucks really.

Fortunately, he is willing enough to rearrange my lessons with another instructor in the company he is part of, so all is not lost. It’d be a shame if all the lessons I’ve had gone to waste because I haven’t been able to practise for a few weeks.

All in all, it’s going relatively good.  Pretty much still practising when I’m on the road, and I’ve started my manoeuvres too – so far, the turn-in-the-road (more commonly know as the 3-point-turn) and reversing around a corner.  I’ve only had 14 hours contact, and 0 hours off.  I would like to practise without having to have lessons, but at this current moment in time, it’s just not feasible.

I still haven’t taken my theory test yet – I guess I should book that relatively soon.  When the practical test will come, I don’t know – my instructor hasn’t given me any notice, and I guess it is still early days.

I’ve just read in the news that drivers from as young as 11 are taking lessons in the UK at the moment.  And if I’m terribly honest, I don’t agree with it at all.  Maybe from around 15-16, possibly, but at 11; it’s rather ridiculous really.  They say that people who take on a skill at a younger age find it a lot easier to learn than those who leave it till later in life.  Fair enough, nothing wrong with that.  But the fact that although these children are learning to drive, they’re not able to get the experience because they’re legally not allowed to drive on public roads.  And in my small number of 14 hours of driving experience, I can say for myself, that’s what it’s all about.  It’s the experience that counts.

Young drivers might be able to think they can drive, because they’ve not had to deal with other users on the road.  So when they first get on to the roads, they’re probably filled to the brink with confidence, and inevitably more likely to cause an accident.  I wouldn’t mind if learner drivers were able to learn on the roads at around 16, but still keep the licensing at 17.  At least that way, they’d be able to achieve the same amount of experience a normal learner would.

And get this – it’s pretty ridiculous (and comical) to read “I’m 12 and too small to see over [the wheel] but I use a cushion.”  I think that in itself is an argument against the idea.  Is it just me who thinks that driving at 11 isn’t a clever idea, or does everyone else think that too?

One Response to “It’s a Hard Drive”

  1. Bit of a political post for you, isn’t it? :p

    I think it could work actually, if it’s done properly, because if you already know the physical side of driving then you can concentrate more on the hazard perception side of driving when you first start to drive on public roads. Although you would still need the same amount of experience, you would just have less lessons on the basics. I agree that some people would be over-confident, but confidence isn’t a bad thing, just over-confidence. It’s getting the balance right I suppose. But, yeah, 11 is far too early.

Leave a Reply

 
